MISD celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Table of Contents

January has been designated as School Board Recognition Month across Texas and Marshall ISD is joining other districts in the state in thanking these community volunteers for their commitment and contributions to public schools.


“It is an honor to serve alongside these seven school board members in Marshall ISD,” said Dr. Jerry Gibson, MISD Superintendent. “Together we are working to make MISD a district that puts its students first in every decision that we make. Preparing today’s students to be productive citizens and leaders of tomorrow is a tremendous task. School board members serve as the voice of their communities and serve first and foremost in the best interest of our students.”

Trustees currently serving on the MISD Board of Trustees include Ms. Barbara Alexander; Mr. Brad Burris; Mr. Ted Huffhines; Mrs. Cathy Marshall; Mr. Chase Palmer; Mrs. Helen Warwick and Mrs. Charles Wilson.

  • Mrs. Warwick was first elected to the MISD board in 2005 and will complete 14 years of service on the school board in May. She serves as School Board President and represents District 3.
  • Mrs. Marshall will complete eight years of service on the school board in May and was first elected in 2010. She is a retired educator, having served as principal at Price T. Young Middle School in MISD before retirement. She serves as Board Vice President and is a member at-large on the board.
  • Mr. Burris was also elected to the board in 2010 and is in his eighth year of service. He is a local real estate broker. He serves in the role of Board Secretary and is also a member at-large.
  • Mrs. Wilson is the longest-serving member of the current school board, in her 28th year of service. Mrs. Wilson was first elected in 1990 and is retired while serving as President of the local chapter of the NAACP. She serves as Assistant Board Secretary while representing District 1.
  • Ms. Alexander is in her second term of service on the board totaling 21 years in May. Her first service was for 14 years, from 1990-2004, and then again from 2011 to the present. She is retired and represents District 2.
  • Mr. Palmer is serving his seventh year on the board after having been elected in 2011. Mr. Palmer is a local attorney with the Palmer Law Firm in Marshall and represents District 5.
  • Mr. Huffhines is in his first year of service on the MISD school board, having being elected in May of 2017. He is a retired educator and former district administrator and principal of Marshall High School, representing District 4 on the board.
In conjunction with School Board Recognition Month, MISD will host a special time of recognition and appreciation for the school board members during the board’s Regular Meeting on Monday, January 22.


The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) designates January as School Board Recognition Month to focus on “the crucial role an elected board of trustees plays in our communities and schools. School board members are extraordinary people who voluntarily tackle the enormous job of governing school districts. Their actions and decisions affect the present and future lives of our children.”

TASB is a voluntary, nonprofit, statewide educational association that serves and represents local Texas school boards and was established in 1949. TASB’s membership includes all 1,028 Texas school districts, 20 regional education service centers, 50 community colleges, 18 central appraisal districts, and 133 shared service arrangements. The Association represents the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state (more than 7,000 school board members) that serves more than 5.3 million Texas students.

(Visited 254 times, 1 visits today)